Marvelous Girl Has Moved!

Nordstrom takes six weeks to deliver coat

Posted on: November 24, 2009

I’m usually a big fan of Nordstrom, but my recent transaction with the company has made me NEVER want to shop there again!  Why you ask?  Because it took six weeks, ten phone calls to customer service, three calls to UPS and a letter to Nordstrom’s corporate headquarters to get the coat I purchased!!

I don’t know about you, but I find that sort of service unacceptable.  I ordered my coat on Sept. 20 and didn’t receive it until Oct. 30 , when I was told it would arrive in 5-8 business days! 

So what went wrong?  Apparently the coat left the Nordstrom’s warehouse via UPS.  From there, UPS “tried” to deliver the package to my second-story apartment but couldn’t find my unit (out of an eight-unit building).  Shocking, I know. 

Seeing that the UPS carrier was too lazy to walk up a flight of stairs – that’s a story for another day – there was no package notice left to alert me that the coat was sent back to Nordstrom. 

So, Nordstrom sent out ANOTHER coat and the cycle with UPS started all over again.  But here’s the kicker…Nordstrom failed to inform me (the customer) of the status of my order.  So in the meantime, I’m calling the company’s customer service and getting the runaround.  On three occasions customer service promised me the package would arrive the next day and it never did.  On two occasions they promised me a return phone call and never called back – infuriating!

Finally, four weeks after my purchase I got a UPS slip on my apartment door saying the package couldn’t be delivered.  I called UPS and they said the package had been sent back to Nordstrom.  So I called Nordstrom and they finally explained the troubles they were having with shipping and asked me for an alternative address to ship the coat (which they should have done weeks prior).  I gave them my work address and the package still didn’t show up for another 10 days!

The most disturbing part of this whole story is that I probably would never have received my coat had I not been such a squeaky wheel.  Also, I had asked for a refund for all the time I spent tracking down this coat (40 days) and Nordstrom wouldn’t give me one.  If I were you, I’d think twice when ordering from this company.  Unless you have the time to order you swimsuit in February so it’s there by June.

And let’s not let UPS off that easy.  The icing on the cake is that I got a UPS delivery a week later to my second-story apartment.  What’s that all about?!  Do their carriers pick and choose the packages they want to deliver?  If Nordstrom was smart it would switch to Fed-Ex.

Follow Marvelous Girl on Twitter, click here!

4 Responses to "Nordstrom takes six weeks to deliver coat"

I would call Nordstrom and tell them you want a discount. That is rediclous. Then proceed to tell them you have a reader base of xxx and see what they say about that.

Obserd! and I’m pretty sure illegal since it beaches consumer laws mandated by the federal trade commission! After a month and all your trouble, the least Nordstrom could have done is comp’d your coat! After reading this, I have no desire to shop somewhere that doesn’t care to take care of their consumer!

What in insane situation, I hope your coat was worth it. No only would I take my patronage elsewhere, I would never set foot on a Nordstrom store again.

The only reason Nordstrom is what it is today is because of their customers, clearly the “big fish” company has lost sight of that…

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 657,727 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Follow me on Twitter

