Marvelous Girl Has Moved!

Victoria Beckham talks business

Posted on: December 8, 2009

Victoria Beckham has taken her denim and eyewear collection in-house, and has overhauled and renamed each,  according  to Women’s Wear Daily. The new styles will make their debut Wednesday on Net-a-porter.com and at a few select stores.

Industry sources estimate the Victoria Beckham dress, denim and sunglass business will ring up $7.5 million in sales next year. In an interview with the paper, Beckham opens up about her hectic schedule (she recently spent the day chaperoning 40 six-year-olds on a field trip), the competition and her drive to succeed.

On being a perfectionist: “It’s about doing things gradually and building the brand in a strategic way. It’s about finding the right time, the right team. With everything that I do, I will only do it after I’ve done all my homework. I really am a perfectionist, and I don’t want to rush anything. It’s not just about putting my name on a product and getting it out there. That’s not what is important to me.”

On her biggest competition: “I’m my competition. I want to do better next season than I did this season. And I’m sure the season after that I will want to beat myself again.”

On what helped shape her into the businesswoman she is today: “I’ve always been driven. I was mentally and physically bullied when I was at school and that gave me a very thick skin…The only reason for me bringing that up is I have always been a fighter. I have always had to work very, very hard with everything I do. That is just my work ethic…That’s my DNA.”

To read the full article and see the collection, click here.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 659,299 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

Follow me on Twitter

